GHCC’s Dunlap Named Vice-Chair of Governor’s Water Planning District Board

Governor Roy Barnes announced today that he has appointed Joel H. Cowan to serve as Chair of the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board. Governor Barnes has also appointed Kathryn L. “Kit” Dunlap of Gainesville as Vice Chair of the Planning District Board. Ms. Dunlap is President and CEO of the Greater Hall Chamber of Commerce.

The Water Planning District is charged with developing regional plans for stormwater and wastewater management as well as water supply and conservation. Eighteen counties are included in the District: Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Forsyth, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Paulding, Rockdale and Walton.

Board membership includes appointments by the Governor (six members), the Lieutenant Governor (two members) and the Speaker of the House (two members). In addition, members include the county commission chairs of counties with populations of 200,000 or more, the mayor of the District’s most populous city, and representatives from each of the remaining counties.

Governor Barnes remaining four appointments include:

Rebecca Allison Champion – Director/Oxbow Meadows Environmental Learning Center, Columbus State University (Columbus) Michael J. Egan – Of Counsel, Sutherland, Asbill & Brennan (Atlanta) Douglas R. Hooker – Vice President/Operations, S. L. King & Associates (Atlanta) Robert L. Moultrie, Sr. – Chairman and CEO, The Facility Group (Smyrna)