Greater Hall Chamber Seeks Nominations for AgriBusiness Awards

Greater Hall Chamber Seeks Nominations for AgriBusiness Awards

Gainesville, GA – March 3, 2009: The Greater Hall Chamber of Commerce Agribusiness Committee awards program increases recognition and appreciation of the agribusiness and agricultural community in Hall County. Nominations for 2009 awards will be accepted through April 8, 2009.

Friend of Agribusiness… an individual who has consistently promoted agribusiness and agriculture in Hall County. (2008 Winner – State Senator Lee Hawkins)

Outstanding Agribusiness… a member of the agribusiness community who demonstrates significant presence and progress in this area. The agribusiness must have been in operation for at least five years to qualify for this award. (2008 Winner – Jaemor Farms Agri-Tourism)

Farmer of the Year… a person who has made significant contribution to agribusiness and community services. (2008 Winner – Tom Oliver)

Ag Hall of Fame… this award is given to individuals each year (living or deceased) in recognition of sustained contributions to Hall County agriculture and agribusiness. (2008 Winners – Dr. Jack Lancaster; Dr. Hugh Mills and Tom Jarrard (awarded posthumously)

The Agribusiness Recognition Awards will be presented during the annual breakfast on Wednesday April 22, 7:30 a.m. at the East Hall Community Center. The program title sponsor is Jackson EMC. Other sponsors include Chattahoochee Bank of Georgia, Chandler Equipment Co., Hall County Farm Bureau, Jaemor Farms, Crystal Farms and AgGeorgia Farm Credit.

To make a 2009 nomination, call Robin Halstead, 770-532-6206. Email: