Annual award presentations for outstanding agribusiness

Hall County celebrated the past and future of agriculture during the annual Agriculture Day celebration on April 14 at the Hall County Farm Bureau. Agribusiness awards recognized Hall’s agriculture community, several longtime farm leaders and students for their writing and art achievements.

The 2005 Agribusiness Hall of Fame recipients collectively represent years of farming and agribusiness experience: Bob Lowe and Arnold Boyd.

Natural Resource Conservation Service and the Farm Service Agency received the annual Friends of Agriculture award for ongoing support of agribusiness. Hall County Extension Service Coordinator Billy Skaggs presented Jerry Truelove with the Farmer of the Year Award. Clermont Veterinary Hospital was named the Outstanding Agribusiness of the Year.

Student Art Winners:

1st Place – McKenzie Bell, Riverbend Elementary

Teacher: Sally Smith

2nd Place – Elisa Mojica & Bertha Rondan, Sugar Hill Elementary

Teacher: Jennifer Reepe

3rd Place – Jared Lee, Wauka Mountain Elementary

Teachers: Jamie Savage and Tami Coleman

Student Essay Winners:

1st Place – David French

2nd Place – Jesse Strickland

3rd Place – Carynna Tover

All from Spout Springs Elementary. Teacher: Colleen Yager.

For more information about the Greater Hall Chamber of Commerce Agribusiness Committee, call Katie Davis, 770-532-6206.